India has a large audience for both Veg & Non-Veg food, but some of the communities are restricted by religion where Non-Veg food is not entertained, also there are people who have their personal preference for ‘Veg only’ food items. To safeguard the interests and the sentiments of such people a food product label must have the identification mark “Veg” or “Non-Veg” for the category of food.
It is mandatory for all food manufacturers to indicate as to whether the food item contains any non-vegetarian ingredients or not. To enable the consumer to know whether any packaged food is vegetarian or non-vegetarian, this will be indicated in the form of a brown circle in square or green circle in a square on the package. A brown circle is to indicate the presence of non-vegetarian ingredients in the food item, while a green circle indicates that the food item is vegetarian. The green circle and brown circle in a square are indicated as veg & non-veg logos respectively.
Let us first understand as per food laws what is a non-vegetarian food and what is vegetarian food.
“Non- Vegetarian Food” means an article of food which contains whole or part of any animal including birds, fresh water or marine animals or eggs or products of any animal origin, but excluding milk or milk products, as an ingredient.
“Vegetarian Food” means any article of Food other than Non- Vegetarian Food.
The Veg , Non veg logo should be placed near the product name so that consumer can easily identify the product that the product is vegetarian or contain any non-vegetarian content.
(i) The size of the logo depends upon the size of the product. The size of the logo i.e. the diameter of the circle and side of the square shall be in accordance to the size of the label.
(ii) The package of “Non Vegetarian” food shall have a symbol and color code as given below to indicate that the product is Non-Vegetarian Food. The symbol shall consist of a brown color filled circle having a specified diameter at the centre of the brown square.
BROWN COLOR
Click here to download the Non-Veg Logo
If any article of food contains egg only as Non-Vegetarian ingredient, the manufacturer, or packer or seller has to mention the same along with the said symbol.
The package of Vegetarian Food shall bear a symbol and color code as given below to indicate that the product is Vegetarian Food. The symbol shall consist of a green color filled circle, having a specified diameter not less than the minimum size inside the square with green outline having specified size.
GREEN COLOR
Click here to download the Veg Logo
There are some products like carbonated water and liquid milk which are exempted from this provision, hence these markings are not required on these products.
So, it is mandatory that labeling of every food product should indicate “Veg” or “Non-Veg” element in the ingredients through recommended marks on the label enabling the user to make a choice.
Click here to download Vegetarian and Non-Vegetarian Logos for printing
PS – This is the module 5 of the 15 modules free e-course on food labeling in compliance with the Food Safety and Standards Act. We will continue with our discussion on food labelling and would further share details about food additives and how they have to be mentioned on the labels.
Once you register and subscribe to the course, we will send you the first module on the third day from the registration and the subsequent modules will be sent in the similar pattern i.e. with a gap of two days.
Ravikumar says
Dear One,
Thanks for the above information but i have some query about the non veg declaration logo on food packages.
above said information is true on behalf of my knowledge but just an day back i had get an message from my friend the non veg logo should be in tingle of brown color outline in tangle there is an circle of brown color is that true or not.
Waiting your valued reply
Thanks,
Ravi kumar
FSH Team says
Hi Ravi,
As per FSS Act, Rules & Regulations, the declaration about Veg & Non-Veg should be in compliance to the guidelines for the products meant to be sold in India.
Sannat Jain says
Dear Mr. Ravi,
The Non Veg dot has to be brown and it has to be inside a square box as mentioned above.
The triangle was an error in one of the draft regulations posted by FSSAI.
Kindly stick to brown dot within a square box.
Regards
Sannat Jain
Annie says
Request you to please advise the BROWN ‘PAN’ TONE REQUIRED FOR THE BROWN DOT”
FSH Team says
As per the Indian Food Safety Regulations on Labelling; the symbol shall consist of a brown color filled circle having a specified diameter at the centre of the brown square. The size of the logo i.e. the diameter of the circle and side of the square shall be in accordance to the size of the label of the product.
Hemant Gaulechha says
Sir,
I have seen certain Green Marked Veg Packeged Articles containing E Class Additives such as E631. Source of E631 is given as Non-veg on many websites. But still There is Green Color marked on the packet. Kindly Specify is it permitted as per the indian law
Vinay shah says
Dear FSH TEAM,
As per current situation, there are many company using flavouring agents with E numbers and other numbers like E 635. As European standards. As the ingredients used in this numbers can be from vegetarian or non vegetarian source,
Bring Vegetarian, Can we trust the Green Symbol for vegetarian on it. ?
Pls clarify..
There r many noodles, chocolates, chips, etc using such flavouring agents
Thanks
Vinay
Dr. Saurabh Arora says
Hi, most of the flavours being used are nature identical and this means they are synthetically produced to match the natural flavours chemical composition. I would no worry about veg or non veg for these but it is a personal choice.
FAHAD says
what about the color carmine it is also promoted as natural and artificial i think you are not aware how is manufacture it is been extracted from insect cochineal so then how can be it remain as veg….. kindly answer this question.
Navin mehta says
Hi
Then ingredients containg E standards should be verified for vegetarians,so that people having veg by symbol are not cheated,or any extra mark to be added to green symbol which assures surety of pure veg.please look into the matter.
Thank you.
Rahul savla says
Vegetarian food packs with green logo has contents like e 471 and others which are non veg. How is this allowed. How are we to know whether what we are eating is 100%vegetarian.
FSH Team says
Under FSSAI regulations, we use the term INS 471 and not E 471. It can be from either plant or animal origin, so if there is a Veg Logo then the manufacturer has to ensure that it should come from plant origin only.
Shadab says
Dear Sir,
Is it possible for a product to have a green dot and still have some non veg origin additive?
FSH Team says
You can read through the following url – https://www.fssai.gov.in/upload/uploadfiles/files/Compendium_Packaging_Labelling_Regulations_22_01_2019.pdf
Gaurav Shrivastava says
Are the rules different in case of Ayurvedic Proprietary Medicines? I heard it is not compulsory to use veg or non veg mark in case of these medicine ? What about the products where no marking is done?
FSH Team says
They are covered under The Drugs & Cosmetics Act, 1940.
feroz says
Does non veg logo also mean pigs fat or meat
FSH Team says
YES.
Mubeen says
Is it also haram?
ganesh sawant says
Hi my name is Ganesh
I want to start masala pouch so I want to know I just put it logo on pouch or I want to register for that at any gov website
And I have to test my produced at any lab.
Please suggest me its really helpful for me
Thanks in advance
Rajul Golchha says
Can a food article containing additive from animal origin be labelled as Veg?
Dr. Saurabh Arora says
No
Ayushi says
Yesterday I have been to a restaurant and what I saw in their menu card was that some of the chicken items were labelled as green. Isn’t it wrong? Can we as a citizen do something?
subhash says
Thanks for a great article. I have a question that What does “Blue” dot mark (on food products) stand for ?
A. K. Mathur says
pl. inform method/ methods of preparation of sample of pickle for analysis in a lab for conforming Standards..
Naresh Madani says
I’ve heard that some jain monks says that some of the items marked as veg. Product like nestle maggi, lays, and some of the chocolates contains some animal fat….then too they are marked with veg logo….is it true???
Vaishnavi says
Can it be assured that there will be no egg content in green mark vegetarian products
Rajib says
On a pack of cumin seeds a similar kind of blue dot was there within a square. Can you tell me what does that mean?
sam says
Want to know the all other dot like black,blue and rest all dot.help me with this.
khaja shujauddin says
i want to registerd colour coding of lable
NICK OF TIME says
Thanks for the above info.. 🙂
KAMAL JAIN says
I have seen posts on face book that Maggie, Colgate and lays etc contains animal part although these products have vegetarian symbol on them. Is it true?
Sreejish says
Can an ayurvedic Oil preparaed by adding cows milk labelled with green dot sign?
Ravi dubey says
Dear sir if no vege logo display on C.box that’s time which type of problems face company
Sheikh Bashar says
where the logo should be placed on pack. what is the distance of veg/Non-veg logo from brand name or product name..
FSH Team says
You can read through this link – https://www.fssai.gov.in/upload/uploadfiles/files/Compendium_Packaging_Labelling_Regulations_22_01_2019.pdf
Hemant says
hi i am going to start my small scale products then what I have to do for the product how can i print this tag on it..?
FSH Team says
You can read through the following url – https://www.fssai.gov.in/upload/uploadfiles/files/Compendium_Packaging_Labelling_Regulations_22_01_2019.pdf
Su Zhang says
Is there any officially published colour code for the brown and green, i.e. an international code for the brown and green colour?
Are your image of the logos from a official source.
Many thanks
Su
Rachana Dinakar says
Hello sir many say flavor enhancers like 635 etc contains non veg but does it really contain even after the green mark.. Please reply as am a jain I need to follow many things..
Tanveer says
What about the Black Dot in square on medicines mean ????
Fred says
People using the restroom at the field we’re there cutter cabbage
Srinivasan says
Some say even in green symbol , there will be egg in minute level like cakes etc… Is it true
Santosg says
Dear,
These days some cosmetics products are also in market marked with veg logo on cosmetocs products please tell about this matter.
Regds,
Santosh Gupta
Altamash says
There are added emulsifiers used in food product such as E471,322 etc which can be obtained either from animal fat or from plants , so if a product is marked with a green dot with its ingredients mention e471 etc can we trust it to be 100 percent veg ?
Anil says
Why in USA veg and non veg symbol not appear on food packets ,is it mandatory or not ? How consumer know about this
FSH Team says
Hi,
The Indian regulations have given the guidelines for Veg & Non-Veg logo on the prepakaged food product. We can not say about the regulations in USA as they have their own food regulatory body. We can only help you with the information on FSS Act, Rules & Regulations.
Raj says
Can you please tell me how did the Green and Brown marking on food product has started in India? I mean the debate before it made mandatory by FSSAI.
Jyoti rani says
In foreign food products if their is no green sign…. Does it mean that product contain non veg.
FSH Team says
The logo guidelines for Green and Brown logo are applicable for all those products which are meant to be sold in Indian territory.
Raj says
Can anyone please tell me the history of how and why the Green and Brown marking on food products have started?
Kunal Chitre says
Hi..
I work in the Hotel Industry and am currently a part of a Pure Vegetarian Hospitality Group looking after their Marketing & Branding.
I want to know whether the ‘Green Dot’ denoting Vegetarian Food has to be placed in all the creatives & designs that we make for promoting the hotel. Or is it only to be used when I use any food item in my creatives & designs.
Hiren Patel says
Hi! Are there any norms that states Veg symbol to be printed on particular side i.e. front or back side of the packing, or one can print anywhere on the pack as visible to its users? If there is any such guideline please share.
Thanks,
Dr. Saurabh Arora says
Hi, it has to be on the principal display panel – http://foodsafetyhelpline.com/2015/02/principal-display-panel-food-product/
Kavya says
Nice information shared.
FSH Team says
Happy with the reply.
[email protected] says
Hi,
The 2018 Draft Regulations say that the vegetarian symbol has to be a triangle and not a circle. Is this correct? Kindly let us know.
FSH Team says
Yes, please read through the following link – http://foodsafetyhelpline.com/fssai-drafts-the-new-labelling-and-display-regulations-2019/
the final notification is yet to be published.
Manish Bajpai says
Hi,
For each product, the certificate to use green dot is issued to Manufacturers based on the declared receipe or on surprise physical verification of the ingredients and the process flow at the factories, especially where both veg and non-veg products are manufactured?
FSH Team says
The Food Safety Standards have already specified guidelines for manufacturing of food products and accordingly will follow the guidelines. It is the responsibility of the FBO to ensure that the manufacturing of Veg & Non-Veg products should be carefully handled. The manufacturer will declare/mention the Green logo or Brown logo as per the FSS (Packaging and Labelling) Regulations, 2011.
Gokul says
Sir ,
How to add Green Dot in product packets , should I take a certificate for that or just fssai lisence is enough for that … ?
Please replay asap..
FSH Team says
Since you have the FSSAI Licence you can go through the Packaging and Labelling regulations,
here’s the following url – https://www.fssai.gov.in/upload/uploadfiles/files/Compendium_Packaging_Labelling_Regulations_22_01_2019.pdf
Leeladharreddy says
Is veg logo compulsory on milk packets or milk bottles.
FSH Team says
There are no guidelines available for declaration of veg and non-veg for Milk products.
Akanksha Singh says
Hi,
If the pack contain 4 different types of food product, out if which 2 are veg and 2 are non veg (contains egg). What is the Logo to be used on the FOP?
Dr. Saurabh Arora says
Non Veg